法治基金常問問題

  • 1. 郭文貴和法治基金之間是什麽關係?
    • 郭文貴是法治基金的創始人、捐款人、推廣人、代言人之一。
  • 2. 郭媒體和法治基金之間是什麽關係?
    • 郭媒體是法治基金的贊助⽅和捐款方。郭媒體也是爲法治基金分享信息的媒體平台。
  • 3. 捐款人是否可以指定款項的用途?
    • 捐款人處於對法治基金對使命和願景的認同而捐贈,但無權指定捐款的用途。捐款的用途將由法治基金的董事會根據法律法規商議決定,以保證捐款服務於法治基金的使命和願景。特殊條件下,根據法律法規和董事會的批准,為了實現法治基金的使命和願景,法治基金有可能會與捐款人在某些特定項目上合作。
  • 4. 作為法治基金的捐款人,我是否有權審查財務和運作紀錄?
    • 法治基金對其所獲的信息和信息提供者的個人信息進行嚴格保密,捐贈人無權審查財務和運營信息。法治基金對財務和運營信息受美國國稅局(“IRS”)和紐約州總檢察長的監督。紐約州擁有最嚴格的法律和法規管理非營利機構的運作。此外,法治基金的財務和運營信息也將由獨立審計師和律師進行審計和審核。所有財務和運營紀錄也將由法治基金的獨立董事監督和審查,以確保遵守美國法律法規、符合法治基金的願景和使命。
  • 5. 舉報中國腐敗和不法行為的流程是什麼?要多久才會得到法治基金的回復?
    • 個人可以通過以下渠道向法治基金提供信息:
      1. a)在法治基金官方網站,點擊“聯繫我們”,然後點擊“爆料”;
      2. b)將信息快遞到法治基金的指定地址;或
      3. c)將信息提交给法治基金指定的媒體平台。
    • 在收到信息後,專業人士和律師將 對所收信息進行審查,並提交給董事會進行討論和採取進一步行動。董事會將每月舉行一次例會,經過討論後,會對相關人員進行回復。若遇緊急情況,董事會將隨時召開特別例會應對。
  • 6. 如果我提供了關於中國的公司或個人的欺詐及違法信息,我會得到來自法律基金的獎勵嗎?
    • 法治基金不直接向個人提供經濟獎勵。但是根據法律規定,若舉報人提交的信息可以幫助美國政府從有欺詐行為的公司或個人處收回資金,舉報人會因此得到經濟獎勵。有關法律包括:“虛假申報法”;美國國稅局舉報獎勵計劃;證券舉報人獎勵計劃;和商品交易法案舉報人獎勵計劃。法治基金將與舉報人合作並為舉報人提供法律、法務、會計、審查、調查和其他方面的支持。如果案件起訴成功,政府將對舉報人進行財務獎勵。
  • 7. 如果我向法治基金提供了揭露中國腐敗和不法行為的敏感信息,我將得到哪些幫助?
    • 法治基金將為案件的所有舉報人提供協助,並向有關政府報告調查結果。法治基金還將提供法律、法務、會計、審計服務;以及一些保護個人和家庭成員安全的手段;協助與相關政府部門合作;申請政治庇護;報銷與舉報相關的費用;以及幫助獲得政府獎勵如虛假申報法、美國國稅局舉報人獎勵計劃、證券交易舉報人獎勵計劃、商品交易法案舉報人獎勵等。
  • 8. 法治基金將怎樣運用捐款?
    • 法治基金將嚴格按照美國國稅局(“IRS”)和紐約州的法律法規使用捐款。這些捐款將用於履行法治基金的願景和使命。捐款將特別用於促進美國和歐洲制定以下法律法規:
      1. A) 阻止中國共產黨從事非法及非人道活動,包括網路和媒體控制、非法沒收個人資產、禁止公民出入境、非法騷擾、拘留、監禁公民、酷刑、暴力、過度量刑、腐敗等非人道行為;
      2. B) 逮捕、處罰來自中國、香港和台灣等違法官員,並沒收其非法資產,限制其旅行簽證;
      3. C) 向相關人士提供政治庇護或居民身份(包括因反對腐敗體制而遭受壓迫的政府官員和其他受到中國當局迫害的人)並保護他們的家庭成員和資產安全。
    • 法治基金還將調查中國共產黨的犯罪和詐騙活動,並向有關政府報告調查結果,幫助他們對犯罪份子和其資產採取法律行動。法治基金將促進中國的言論自由,媒體和公眾監督,保護在中國反對腐敗和反對非法活動的個人。此外法治基金還將幫助人民(包括少數民族、弱勢群體、婦女兒童、宗教人士、異見人士、被政府掠奪的投資者、遭受非法拆遷的群眾、公開反對腐敗制度的官員等等)為他們爭取正義,使他們免受中國共產黨的迫害。
    • 捐款將用於支付法治基金實現其願景與使命的費用,包括:
      1. - 律師費
      2. - 與政治庇護有關的費用
      3. - 法務會計審計費用
      4. - 調查費
      5. - 促進中國法治的教育、會議和研討會的費用
      6. - 媒體費用
      7. - 保護相關舉報人和受害人安全的費用
      8. - 行政和業務運作費用
      9. - 與法治基金使命直接相關的費用
  • 9. 法治基金的機構性質是什麼?
    • 法治基金是一個非營利性機構,其設立符合“美國國稅局服務法”第501(c)(3)節。法治基金在紐約州創辦,並受紐約州總檢察長的監督。紐約在美國擁有最嚴格的法律和法規管理非營利組織。
  • 10. 法治基金的董事如何被選出?董事的任期為多久?
    • 董事由法治基金的創始會員選出,任期一年。董事可在任期屆滿之後再次當選連任。董事會至少有三名獨立董事負責監督日常運營。
  • 11. 捐款人對法治基金的捐款有最低或最高限額嗎?
    • 捐款沒有最低或最高限額。所有法治基金的捐款受“美國國稅局服務法”第501(c)(3)節管轄。在國稅局授予免稅資格後,捐贈可以抵稅。
  • 12. 捐款需要哪些個人信息?捐款人的姓名和個人信息會對眾公開嗎?
    • 為了確保機密性,法治基金不需要捐款人的個人信息。銀行和法治基金將會對捐款人的銀行帳戶和電匯信息進行嚴格保密,不會向公眾透露任何個人信息。
  • 13. 法治基金的董事是否會提取任何薪酬/董事酬金?
    • 董事職務是公益性質,所有董事都沒有薪酬。董事可報銷直接用於履行職責的費用。
  • 14. 捐款是否會用於投資? 如何處理投資的利潤? 捐款人是否有權獲得分成?
    • 與大多公益機構一樣,法治基金可以進行投資。其利潤用來維護、擴大和加強法治基金的運營。此外,法治基金還可以投資有利於實現其使命和願景的公司、項目或設備。例如投資相關科技來打破中國的網路封鎖,在中國傳播真相和正義;調查中國共產黨人所犯的腐敗和刑事犯罪;增強網路安全保障技術等等。所有投資必須經董事會批准且遵守投資政策。法治基金將保留投資利潤,用於實現其使命和願景。捐款人無權分享任何投資利潤。
  • 法治基金 保留隨時完全或部分地解釋、變更、增加或刪除官網內容的權利

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) About Rule of Law Foundation

  • 1. What is the relationship between Miles Guo (Guo Wengui) and Foundation?
    • Miles Guo is the founder, a donor, a promotor and a spokesperson.
  • 2. What is the relationship between Guo Media and Foundation?
    • Guo Media is a sponsor, a donor and also a media platform to distribute information about Foundation.
  • 3. Does a donor have the right to direct how his/her donations will be used?
    • A donor’s donation is a gift to Foundation, and a donor will have no right to direct how the donation is used. The usage of the donation is determined by the Board of Directors of Foundation in accordance with U.S. laws and regulations and the vision and mission of Foundation. With the Board of Directors’ approval and complying with U.S. laws and regulations, Foundation could work with a donor on specific projects in furtherance of the vision and mission of Foundation.
  • 4. As a donor to Foundation, do I have the right to check the accounting and operational records?
    • Rule of Law Foundation will protect the confidentiality of whistleblowers and the information they provide. All such information is strictly confidential and Foundation will not allow any donor to inspect any accounting or operational information unless required to do so by applicable U.S. laws and regulations. Foundation’s accounting and operational records are subject to the supervision of the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) and the Attorney General of the State of New York which has the most stringent laws and regulations to govern the operations of non-profit organizations in the U.S. Moreover, the accounting and operational records will be audited by independent auditors and lawyers of Foundation and all accounting records and operations will be supervised and reviewed by the Independent Directors of Foundation to ensure they are in compliance with U.S. laws and regulations and the vision and mission of Foundation.
  • 5. What are the procedures for reporting corruption and illegal activities in China and how long will it take for me to receive a reply?
    • Any person providing information to Foundation should submit the relevant information through any of the following channels:
      1. a) On the official website of Foundation, select “Contact Us” then select “Whistleblower”;
      2. b) Courier the information to the designated address of Foundation; or
      3. c) Submit the information to the media platform designated by Foundation.
    • After receiving the information, the professionals and lawyers will review the information and submit it to the Board of Directors for discussion and further actions. The Board of Directors will hold discussions once a month and will reply to the relevant parties after the discussion. For urgent cases, the Board of Directors will hold special meetings to discuss.
  • 6. By providing information of fraud and illegal activities in relation to Chinese companies and individuals to Foundation, does a whistleblower get a financial reward from Foundation?
    • Rule of Law Foundation do not provide individuals with financial rewards directly. However, there are several laws that provide whistleblowers with financial rewards when they submit information that helps the U.S. government recover funds from companies or individuals committing fraud. These laws and programs include the following: The False Claims Act; IRS Whistleblower Reward Program; Securities Whistleblower Reward Program; and Commodity Exchange Act Whistleblower Rewards. Foundation will work and cooperate with the whistleblower and provide legal, forensic, accounting, investigative and other support to the whistleblower. If the case is successful, the government will provide the whistleblower with financial rewards.
  • 7. What help do I get from Rule of Law Foundation if I provide sensitive information exposing corruption and illegal activities in China?
    • Rule of Law Foundation will provide assistance to any whistleblower with the investigation of a case and report the findings to the relevant government. Foundation will also provide support with respect to legal services, forensic work, accounting and auditing services, ensuring personal and family members’ safety, cooperation with the relevant government departments, applications for political asylum, reimbursement of relevant expenses in relation to the whistleblowing and getting rewards from the government under the False Claims Act; IRS Whistleblower Reward Program; Securities Whistleblower Reward Program; and Commodity Exchange Act Whistleblower Rewards, etc.
  • 8. How will donations to Rule of Law Foundation be used?
    • The funds received by Foundation will only be used in strict accordance with the laws and regulations of the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) and the State of New York. The funds will be used in accordance with the vision and mission Foundation. In particular, they will be used to promote the establishment of laws and regulations in the U.S. and Europe to:
      1. a) Stop the Chinese Communist Party from committing illegal and inhuman acts including cyber and media control, illegal confiscation of personal assets, forbiddance of travel, unlawful detentions, corruption, brutality, false imprisonment, excessive sentencing, harassment and inhumanity in China;
      2. b) Arrest, punish, confiscate illegal assets and restrict travel visas of the relevant government officials in China, Hong Kong and Taiwan for aiding and abetting or committing the above illegal activities; and
      3. c) Offer political asylum or resident status to the people (including both government officials speaking out against the corrupted system and people being persecuted by the Chinese authorities) and protection of their family members and assets.
    • Foundation will also investigate the criminal and racketeering activities of the Chinese Communist Party and expose and report the results to the relevant governments for them to take legal action against the criminals and their assets. Foundation will promote freedom of speech, media and general public supervision of the Chinese government and protect individuals speaking out against corruption and illegal activities in China. Moreover, Foundation will also help the people (including minorities, vulnerable and underprivileged group of people, women and children, religious individuals, dissidents, investors plundered by the government, victims of illegal demolitions, government officials speaking out against the corrupted system, etc.) to fight for justice and save them from being persecuted by the Chinese Communist Party.
    • The donations will be used to pay the expenses associated with the vision and mission of Foundation including:
      1. - legal fees;
      2. - expenses associated with political asylum applications;
      3. - forensic, accounting and auditing fees;
      4. - investigation fees;
      5. - education, conferences and seminars to promote the Rule of Law in China;
      6. - media expenses;
      7. - expenses incurred to protect the security of whistleblowers and victims;
      8. - administrative and operational expenses; and
      9. - disbursements directly related to the purpose of the Rule of Law Foundation.
  • 9. What is the corporate nature of Rule of Law Foundation?
    • Similar to many charity organizations, Foundation is a non-profit corporation set up to comply with the Internal Revenue Service Code section 501(C)(3) and is under the supervision of the Attorney General of the State of New York which has the most stringent laws and regulations to govern the operations of non-profit organizations in the U.S.
  • 10. How are the Directors elected and what are the terms of the Directors?
    • The Directors are elected by the founding members of Foundation with a term of one year. Directors can be re-elected after the expiry of their term. There are at least three independent directors on the Board of Directors to supervise the daily operations.
  • 11. Is there a minimum amount / maximum amount that one could donate to Rule of Law Foundation?
    • There is no minimum amount nor maximum amount for a donation. Donations to Foundation are governed by the Internal Revenue Service Code section 501(C)(3). All donations will be tax deductible once tax-exempt status is granted by the Internal Revenue Service. For newly formed organizations like Foundation, applicable IRS procedures are as follows: “When the IRS approves a timely filed exemption application, exempt status is recognized back to the date the organization was created. Thus, while an application is pending, the organization can treat itself as exempt from federal income tax under section 501(c)(3). For example, it must file Form 990 (instead of an income tax return) while its application is pending. However, contributors to the organization do not have advance assurance of deductibility because the organization’s exemption is pending. If the organization ultimately qualifies for exemption for the period in which the contribution is made, the contribution will be tax-deductible by the donor. Alternatively, if the organization ultimately does not qualify for exemption, then the contribution will not be tax deductible.
  • 12. What personal information is required to donate? Will the name of the donors be disclosed to the public?
    • In order to secure the confidentiality of the donors, no donor information is required from Foundation. The banks and Foundation will have the donors’ bank wiring information which will be kept strictly confidential. Names and other donor information will be kept strictly confidential and will not be disclosed to the public.
  • 13. Will the directors of Rule of Law Foundation draw any salary / directors’ emoluments?
    • The role of the Director is a charitable role and all the Directors will have no salary. The Directors will be reimbursed for actual expenses spent directly in relation to his/her role as the Director of Foundation.
  • 14. Will donations be used to make investments? How will the profits on investments be handled? Will the donors share the profits on the investments?
    • Just like most charitable organizations, Foundation could make investments to preserve, expand and strengthen Foundation. Moreover, Foundation could also make investments into companies, projects or equipment beneficial to the achievement of the vision and mission of Foundation, such as investing into technologies to break the cyber wall in China, to disseminate truth and justice in China, to investigate corruption and criminal offences committed by Chinese Communist Party members and cyber-security. All investments have to be approved by the Board of Directors and comply with the Investment Policy. Any profits on investments will be retained by Foundation to be used only for the achievement of the vision and mission of Foundation. The donors have no right to share any profits on investments.
  • Rule of Law Foundation reserves the right to change the content of the website anytime without notice